Back to All Posts

ArtScuffle (Pt 3)

Originally posted on 2023-07-23

With a tentative release yesterday (and a bigger release planned for Tuesday), ArtScuffle is now live to all users! The past week has been a hectic blur of getting everything ready and set up for public use; a lot of my time was dedicated to cleaning up the website, integrating Stripe and Discord API, and making some final changes to the bot.

Added Commands/Updated Commands

  • /toggle to make attacks public of private! This is also the very first premium command
  • Some math (ok... basic addition) was added to /chain to show the "level" of chaining

Battling Stripe

Setting up Stripe was not too difficult (especially since I had Carter's old code to fall back on). However, figuring out how I wanted pricing to work to (1) be easy to understand to users and (2) easy to program was very difficult. The very first model I used had users choose a server to "boost" before purchasing their subscription; the Discord API let me display the list of servers to boost and users could choose from that.

However, this became an issue when I realized users that bought multiple subscriptions would not be able to tell which subscription belonged to which server in the Stripe subscription management portal. Oof. So I revamped the page to instead allow users to purchase "boosts", which then could be used in a server through the bot. More information on the boost commands can be found in the ArtScuffle docs.

Discord API

There isn't much to write about in terms of the Discord API (not to be confused with discord.py). The documentation was very clean and I was easily able to add a "Log In With Discord" to my shop page.

Reseting a Server

I also added in a command to reset a server (expected use being when free servers hit 500 attacks and decide to reset). I'm a bit unsure how the API is going to handle all 500 attacks as Backblaze does have a limit, but I'll most likely be rewriting that part of the code once that attack cap is actually reached.

Some Preview Images!

Thought I'd end this post by showcasing some preview images from my work on ArtScuffle! Although the project will continue to be updated, as the official site is out, I'll most likely be logging all of my changes on the actual site.